Arizona’s Floyd, Iowa’s Thomas Earn AFL Awards

CHICAGO – The Arena Football League Office announced today that Arizona Rattlers defensive back Marquis Floyd has been named IOA Defensive Back of the Year and Iowa Barnstormers wide receiver Marco Thomas has been named Cutters Wide Receiver of the Year.

Floyd (6-1, 190, West Georgia) led the League with 13 interceptions in 2014. The seven-year veteran earned his second career All-Arena selection this season after logging 86 tackles and nine pass breakups for the Rattlers. This is his first IOA Defensive Back of the Year selection.

Thomas (6-0, 190, Western Illinois) set career-highs in every major receiving category in 2014. The fifth-year pro earned First Team All-Arena honors for the first time in his career after leading the League with 1,946 receiving yards on the year. He ranked second in the AFL with 151 receptions and 39 receiving touchdowns. This is his first Cutters Wide Receiver of the Year selection.

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2014 season. The AFL schedule culminates with ArenaBowl XXVII Saturday, August 23, 2014 on ESPN.