AFL Press Release


Philadelphia Soul Lead First Team With Three Selections


LAS VEGAS (August 13, 2016) – Eighteen players earned 2016 First and Second Team All-Arena Defensive honors, the AFL Office announced tonight on CBS Sports Network.


Headlining the First Team Defense was Philadelphia Soul defensive lineman Jake Metz, who garnered his first All-Arena selection after leading the AFL in sacks with 8.0, while teammate defensive back Tracey Belton also earned his first selection and led the League with nine interceptions.  Jack linebacker Joe Goosby earned his first All-Arena honor to round out the Soul’s three first team selections.  Goosby had 70.0 total tackles, a half sack, two interceptions, a fumble recovery and a forced fumble.


Arizona Rattlers defensive lineman Damien Borel and Mac linebacker Tyre Glasper earned First Team honors.  Borel finished the season No. 2 in sacks with 6.5 and added 21.5 total tackles and two fumble recoveries.  Glasper tallied 24.5 total tackles, 4.0 sacks, two fumble recoveries and two blocked kicks.  Cleveland Gladiators’ Randy Colling earned First Team with 19.5 total tackles and 4.5 sacks from the nose guard spot.


Jacksonville Sharks defensive back Greg Reid, Orlando Predators defensive back Varmah Sonie and kick return specialist Brandon Thompkins round out the First Team.  Reid, who earned 2015 Rookie of the Year honors, finished 2016 with 101.5 total tackles, eight interceptions, 35 passes defended, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.  Sonie, who earned All-Arena in 2014, finished the season with 97.0 total tackles, six interceptions, 22 passes defended, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.  Thompkins, who also earned First Team wide receiver, had 93 returns for an AFL-high 1,823 yards and five touchdowns.



DL Jake Metz Philadelphia DL Teddy Jennings Philadelphia
DL Damien Borel Arizona DL Daryl Cato-Bishop Orlando
NG Randy Colling Cleveland NG Dimetrio Tyson Arizona
MLB Tyre Glasper Arizona MLB Dexter Jackson Jacksonville
JLB Joe Goosby Philadelphia JLB Terence Moore Orlando
DB Tracy Belton Philadelphia DB Dwayne Hollis Philadelphia
DB Greg Reid Jacksonville DB Marvin Ross Cleveland
DB Varmah Sonie Orlando DB Fredrick Obi Los Angeles
KR Brandon Thompkins Orlando KR Larry Beavers Cleveland



Nine more players earned Second Team All-Arena honors, including: Philadelphia Soul defensive lineman Teddy Jennings and defensive back Dwayne Hollis; Orlando Predators defensive lineman Daryl Cato-Bishop and Jack linebacker Terence Moore; Cleveland Gladiators defensive back Marvin Ross and kick return specialist Larry Beavers; Arizona Rattlers defensive lineman Dimetrio Tyson; Los Angeles KISS defensive back Fredrick Obi; and Jacksonville Sharks Mac linebacker Dexter Jackson.


18 thoughts on “AFL All-Arena Defensive Teams (2016)”

  1. Pingback: glo cartridges
  2. Pingback: ruger american 9mm
  3. Pingback: dewa jitu
  4. Pingback: wigs for women
  5. Pingback: KIU-Library
  6. Pingback: fun88
  7. Pingback: Bitcoin Era Review
  8. Pingback: de kep