Baltimore Brigade Press Release

The Arena Football League announced today selections for the 2018 All-Arena First and Second Teams, which include 10 Brigade players in 11 positions. Six Brigade players were named First Team All-Arena, highlighted by kick returner Brandon Thompkins and kicker Mark Lewis, each making their fourth All-Arena appearance.

A full list of Baltimore’s All-Arena honorees is below:


Virgil Gray (DB) – 3x All-Arena

Dexter Jackson (LB) – 2x All-Arena

Justin Lawrence (DT) – 2x All-Arena

Mark Lewis (K) – 4x All-Arena

Jordan McCray (OL) – 1x All-Arena

Brandon Thompkins (KR) – 4x All-Arena


Rodney Fritz (DE) – 1x All-Arena

Randy Hippeard (QB) – 2x All-Arena

Rory Nixon (FB) – 1x All-Arena

Joe Powell (DB) – 1x All-Arena

Brandon Thompkins (WR) – 4x All-Arena

Thompkins is the only player in the AFL to earn All-Arena honors at two different positions (wide receiver and kick returner) and has now been named an All-Arena kick returner in four consecutive seasons. Thompkins led the Brigade and ranked third in the AFL with 85 receptions this regular season. His 809 receiving yards and 15 receiving touchdowns also lead the team. Thompkins led the AFL in yards per kick return (19.3) and tied for the league lead with one kickoff return touchdown.

Gray, who made his return to the playing field this season after a year as a coach with the Brigade, led the league with 73 total tackles and was tied for fourth with three interceptions.

Jackson and Lawrence bolstered the Brigade defense all season and each make their second All-Arena appearance. Lawrence was also named First Team All-Arena last season while Jackson’s last All-Arena appearance came in 2016.

Hippeard, the 2017 AFL Most Valuable Player, earned All-Arena honors after leading the league in completions (280), attempts (405) and completion percentage (69.1 – minimum nine games) in the regular season. Hippeard ranked second in both passing yards (2,091) and passing touchdowns (61).

Four Brigade players (McCray, Fritz, Nixon and Powell) earned the first All-Arena honors of their career, led by offensive lineman Jordan McCray, Baltimore’s First Team representative from the offensive side of the ball.