League Press Release

PHILADELPHIA – The Arena Football League released the 2019 schedule and rule changes on Wednesday. The Philadelphia Soul will kick off their quest for a fourth title against the new Atlantic City expansion team on April 27. Additional highlights from the team’s 12-game schedule include a three-game homestand beginning on June 1 against the league’s other expansion franchise, Columbus and a June 9 matchup with the defending ArenaBowl champion Washington Valor. 

The league is also implementing several rule changes with the goal of shortening games and enhancing the fan experience.

Rule Changes

  • The first-half’s one-minute timing rules will be eliminated. There will be no automatic clock stoppage at the one-minute mark in the second quarter and the game clock will follow regular guidelines. Additionally, in the fourth quarter, the traditional AFL clock stoppage rules will not take effect until the thirty-second mark.
  • The number and duration of media timeouts will be reduced.
  • Coaches will have the traditional three timeouts to use per half. Two of the three timeouts will be clock-stoppage timeouts only: the game clock will stop and the play clock will reset immediately. One of the three timeouts per half will remain as a traditional media timeout.
  • A 60-second play clock will be implemented following extra-point and two-point conversion attempts, with the exception of media timeouts.